# **CTC Oxfordshire Annual General Meeting**

held at 11:00am on Saturday 8 November 2014 at the Village Hall, Hinton Waldrist, Oxfordshire SN7 8RN

#### **Draft Minutes**

Attending the meeting: John Bridgman, Richard Carter, James Dawton, Andy Ellis, Peter Hallowell, Dan Hart, Brian Hipwell, Stephen Lee, Ian Murray, Richard Preece, Graham Smith, Steve Swanton, Robin Tucker, Neil Warner (14)

## 1. Opening and Minutes of 2013 AGM

- Notice calling the meeting Published in CTC Cycle magazine Oct/Nov 2014 issue
- Election of a Minutes Taker Robin Tucker, Secretary, took the Minutes
- Apologies for Absence Apologies were received from Martin Casey, Ros Hallowell, Jon Gammage, John Hopper, Lewis Lawton, Ellen Lee, Monica Mehers and Richard Morris
- Minutes of the 2013 AGM Proposed Ian Murray, Seconded Peter Hallowell, Approved without contention.
- Matters arising from previous minutes
  - Committee changes over the course of the year. Jon Gammage replaced Kevin Hickman as the Witney representative. Pat Hurt resigned from the Registrar role and was replaced by Robin Tucker and then Peter Hallowell.

## 2. Officers' Annual Reports (see Reports Appendix)

- Secretary's Report
- Treasurer's Report
- Registrar's Report
- Welfare Officer's Report
- Publicity Officer's report
- Right-to-ride and Planning Officer's report

Acceptance of Officers Reports – Proposed Neil Warner, Seconded Richard Carter, Approved without contention.

## 3. Member Group Annual Reports (see Reports Appendix)

- Wallingford
- Witney

Acceptance of Informal Member Group Reports – Proposed James Dawton, Seconded Richard Carter, Approved without contention.

- Oxford City
- Isis Cyclists
- Oxford Midweek
- Wantage

While these four reports do not require approval, the meeting noted their thanks to the member groups and their representatives to the meeting.

#### 4. Election of Committee Members

Position	Candidate(s)	Proposer(s)	Seconder(s)	Result
Chair	Steve Swanton	Robin Tucker	Peter Hallowell	Elected without contest
Secretary	Robin Tucker	Steve Swanton	Peter Hallowell	Elected without

				contest
Treasurer	Peter Hallowell	Neil Warner	Brian Hipwell	Elected without
				contest
Registrar	Andy Ellis	Robin Tucker	Peter Hallowell	Elected without
				contest
Welfare Officer	Phil Wray	Peter Hallowell	Graham Smith	Elected without
				contest
Publicity Officer	Robin Tucker	James Dawton	lan Murray	Elected without
				contest
Right-to-ride	James Dawton	lan Murray	Graham Smith	Elected without
and Planning				contest
Officer				
Other	Ian Murray	Graham Smith	Peter Hallowell	Elected without
Committee				contest
Members				

lan Murray noted a particular interest in improving the quality and consistency of ride leadership, for example through training.

The position of Webmaster is agreed by the Committee and held by Jo Munt. The meeting noted thanks to Jo for creating a good-looking and useful website.

# 4a. Ratification of Informal Member Groups, and election of their Coordinators to the Committee

- Wallingford
- Witney

Ratification of both Groups Proposed Robin Tucker, Seconded Neil Warner, Approved without contention.

Coordinator for Wallingford	Dan Hart	Ian Murray	Richard Carter	Approved without contention
Coordinator for Witney	Jon Gammage	Robin Tucker	James Dawton	Approved without contention

## 4b. Member Group representatives (appointed by their Member Group)

- Oxford City James Dawton (pending decision by Oxford City Group at their next committee meeting)
- Isis Cyclists Lucy Wright
- Oxford Midweek Martin Casey
- Wantage Neil Warner

#### 5. Motions to the AGM

- Appointment of Auditor Stephen Lee kindly agreed to audit the accounts for the coming year.
  - Proposed Robin Tucker, Seconded Richard Carter, Approved without contention.
- Ratification of CTC Oxfordshire Volunteers The list was available on the day and a few changes were made to add and remove volunteers.
  Proposed Neil Warner, Seconded Robin Tucker, Approved without contention.

 Motion 1 – That CTC Oxfordshire coordinates a series of rides in the Bicester area and gauges interest in the formation of a local group. Proposer: Steve Swanton; Seconder: Robin Tucker.

We have had several contacts over the last year with CTC Members based in or near Bicester who are interested in rides and/or campaigning.

Approved without contention.

• Motion 2 – That CTC Oxfordshire organises a ride leading workshop. Proposer: Steve Swanton: Seconder: Robin Tucker.

The aim of this is to encourage new ride leaders to come forward with appropriate support, and to exchange experiences and practices between ride leaders and groups.

It was generally agreed that this was a good thing to do, and would encourage new ride leaders as well as improving consistency between existing ride leaders. It would probably be a workshop sharing practices between existing and new ride leaders, followed by an 'on the road' practical session. One person suggested that it included route planning and map reading.

Approved without contention.

## 6. Any Other Business

Report from the CTC Council – Graham Smith

Graham reported CTC Membership rising. Head Office is keen to support Member Groups with materials and the national website for promoting events.

Graham reported briefly on CTC's campaigns for 'Fill that hole', Road Justice and Space for Cycling. There was disappointment that the Government's Cycling Delivery Plan did not include commitment to funding, but Members were encouraged to write to the Chancellor to include this in the Autumn Statement. Apart from this, there are a many positive aspects to the Cycling Delivery Plan.

CTC also supports 40 inclusive cycling groups with 12,000 participants.

The new Chief Executive of CTC, Paul Tuohy, is a regular and keen cyclist, and has led other charities as CEO. He has an ambition to improve the presence and brand of CTC.

Closing remarks – Steve Swanton

Steve closed the meeting with thanks to all who attended the AGM.